• Search Engine
  • eng
  • ger
  • Bookmark and Share
Lera Auerbach

compositions detail back to catalogue
    • Fragile Solitudes 
    • (Shadowbox) for String Quartet and Orchestra [2008]
  • In memoriam Joseph Cornell
  • Commissioned by ProMusica Chamber Orchestra
  • Publisher:  Musikverlag Hans Sikorski GmbH & Co. KG
  • Genre: Concerto 
  • Duration: 25 min
Instrumentation: 2(picc, alto fl).2(cor anglais).2(bass cl).2(db bn) – – cel. strings.

1. Adagio misterioso
2. Poco animato
3. L'istesso tempo
4. Poco pi

First Performance: 05 April 2008 | Southern Theatre | Columbus, USA
First Performers: Borromeo String Quartet (ensemble); ProMusica Chamber Orchestra (ensemble); Russell, Timothy (conductor)
ASCAP: 360726645 / 36233709
GEMA: 10357350-001
Exempla Nova: 373
Edition: SIK 8573
Hal Leonard ID: HL 50490140
UPC: 9790003036403
ISMN: 9790003036403
ISWC: T-802.608.338-6
AISN: 0003036405

Joseph Cornell (1903-1972), an American artist and sculptor, collected and carefully juxtaposed found objects in small, glass-front boxes. Cornell created visual poems in which surface, form, texture, and light play together. Using things we can see, Cornell made boxes about things we cannot see: ideas, memories, fantasies, and dreams. He created a unique, highly individual and personal style, when the objects of everyday life would suddenly gain a different meaning and dimension, bringing memories and metaphors. Although his constructions are enveloped in nostalgia–the longing for something that happened long ago and far away–heir appearance is throughly modern.

-Quote provided courtesy of Joan Sommers and Ascha Drake from their book The Jospeh Cornell Box: Found Objects, Magical Worlds

Copyright 2010 LeraAuerbach.com. All rights reserved  |  Impressum  |  Terms of use  |  Privacy policy