• Search Engine
  • eng
  • ger
  • Bookmark and Share
Lera Auerbach

compositions detail back to catalogue
    • Serenade for a Melancholic Sea 
    • for Violin, Violoncello, Piano and String Orchestra, Op. 68 [2002]
  • Dedicated to Gidon Kremer
  • Commissioned by Orchestra Ensemble Kanazawa in memory of Toru Takemitsu
  • Publisher:  Musikverlag Hans Sikorski GmbH & Co. KG
  • Genre: Concerto 
  • Duration: 10 min
Instrumentation: V, Vc, Klav, Str 7(14)/6(12)/4(8)/4(8)/2(4)
First Performance: 12 September 2002 | Kanazawa, Japan
First Performers: Michael Dauth (Violin); Sudraba, Marta (Cello); Slabys, Andrius (Piano); Ensemble Kanazawa (Ensemble); Iwaki, Hiroyuki (Conductor)
ASCAP: 492677977
GEMA: 7723699-001
Exempla Nova: 347
Edition: 8547
Hal Leonard ID: HL 50486816
UPC: 884088415327
ISMN: 9790003036175
ISWC: T-802.493.384-5
AISN: 0003036170

This work was completed at the request of Gidon Kremer, to whom it is dedicated, and was commissioned by the Ensemble Kanazawa.

Written in homage to Toru Takemitsu, the material of the Serenade incorporates both Toru’s and Gidon’s monograms. Takemitsu’s “Sea motive” (E-flat, E, A) is also present. Thus, symbolically, Gidon and Toru meet again in a timeless and spaceless sea of music. Perhaps the greatest mystery of musical performance is when composer, performer and listener meet in the realm of a moment in which future meets past and this intersection becomes present. 

The orchestra and soloists play very different roles in this piece. The orchestral writing is delicate yet complex. The image I had in mind in its conception was of a painting that from distance may seem as a one-colored pallet canvas, but upon a closer look - one finds very detailed brushwork - a polyphonic painting. The string orchestra is divided in 23 independent parts that carry different perspectives in this ever-changing mosaic of colors. Upon this quiet but multi-layered background the main characters of Violin, Cello and Piano are present as individual figures surrounded by a large open space. 
(Lera Auerbach, 2006)

Copyright 2010 LeraAuerbach.com. All rights reserved  |  Impressum  |  Terms of use  |  Privacy policy