• English
  • German
  • Bookmark and Share
Lera Auerbach
Audio Video back to Audio/Video

Composer: Lera Auerbach
Fragile Solitudes (Shadowbox) for String Quartet and Chamber Orchestra [2008]
In memoriam Joseph Cornell
Commissioned by ProMusica Chamber Orchestra
(Musikverlag Hans Sikorski GmbH & Co. KG)
Live World Premiere Performance (Unedited audio-file)
Performance Date: 05 April 2008 | Southern Theatre | Columbus, OH | USA

Performers: Borromeo String Quartet (ensemble); ProMusica Chamber Orchestra (ensemble); Russell, Timothy (conductor)
Instrumentation: 2(picc, alto fl).2(cor anglais).2(bass cl).2(db bn) – – cel. strings

About Joseph Cornell and his shadowboxes:

Joseph Cornell (1903-1972), an American artist and sculptor, collected and carefully juxtaposed found objects in small, glass-front boxes. Cornell created visual poems in which surface, form, texture, and light play together. Using things we can see, Cornell made boxes about things we cannot see: ideas, memories, fantasies, and dreams. He created a unique, highly individual and personal style, when the objects of everyday life would suddenly gain a different meaning and dimension, bringing memories and metaphors. Although his constructions are enveloped in nostalgia–the longing for something that happened long ago and far away–heir appearance is throughly modern.

-Quote provided courtesy of Joan Sommers and Ascha Drake from their book The Jospeh Cornell Box: Found Objects, Magical Worlds

You may not download, copy, reproduce, edit, adapt, alter, republish, post, broadcast, transmit, make available to the public, or otherwise use this audio or video in any way except for your own personal, non-commercial use.

©All rights reserved
Copyright 2010 LeraAuerbach.com. All rights reserved  |  Impressum  |  Terms of use  |  Privacy policy